Seek Ye First…

I love hidden object picture puzzles.  I will strain my eyes (and sometimes my family’s patience) for hours trying to find “2 birds, 3 cones, 1 lock” hidden in a random scene.  Sometimes I am get so intent and frustrated trying to find the last object, I have to be reminded to take a break.  When I come back to the puzzle later with fresh eyes, it is surprising how much easier it is to find the items that had previously eluded me.  Often I see the missing object immediately.

Some days we may feel tired of church-going and scripture reading.  There’s nothing new.  We’ve heard it all/read it all before.  But just as with the puzzle, every time we read the Scriptures or listen to a sermon, God gives us “fresh eyes” to see or hear new ideas in His Word that speak to where we are now.

So next time we pick up a Bible, or sit down for the sermon, let’s first say a prayer and ask that our minds and hearts be open to whatever insights God may have for  us.

Matthew 6:33But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

